Blog Inspiration: Lazy Sunday Part 3 – Eat

Baking Cookies: Once plants were planted, I decided to spend the rest of the evening baking some cookies. I though first of my favorite kind: oatmeal chocolate chip, but Andrew had just made me some for my birthday and we had devoured them all in one weekend. Then I considered a good Ginger cookie recipe that I have made more than a few times, but in the end I decided upon a favorite that I had gotten from my mom, who got it from my grandma: no-bake chocolate oatmeal peanut butter cookies. These things are quick and easy, and feel so unhealthy since it is a lot of butter and sugar, although they do contain oatmeal and peanut better.  The recipe I had written down was this:

Cook for 1 1/2 minutes:

2 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter or marg
1/3 c. cocoa
1/2 c. milk

Add:
3 1/4 c. oatmeal
1 tsp  vanilla
1/2 peanut better

Drop on wax paper

I didn’t bring them to the boil that they should have been at, but they still turned out pretty good.  Enough to curb my sweet craving. I think next time I will try to modify it a bit so that there is less butter, or experiment with variations I have found online.

IMG_1696

At the same time as I was whipping those up, I was making some cookies for Charley too.  For Christmas I had gotten from my sister a cookbook for dog treats that came with some cute cookie cutters: bone, cat, dog house, fire hydrant, and heart. While the ingredients in the recipe book call for things like corn meal, wheat germ, and other stuff that I didn’t have, I decided to consult the WWW, which never seems to fail me. It came through with this recipe
(http://www.kingarthurflour.com/blog/2010/12/13/puppy-love-our-biscuit-taste-test/):

Best of Breed Dog Biscuits:

Preheat the oven to 300°F. Lightly grease a couple of baking sheets, or line them with parchment (which is what I did).

Put the following in a mixing bowl:
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats, regular or quick (I used regular)
1 tablespoon dried parsley or 2 tablespoons chopped fresh (I used dried – but hope to use fresh once my plants are growing)
1/2 cup dry milk or nonfat dry milk (I didn’t have this so I just skipped it)
1/2 teaspoon salt

– Stir to combine.  Add 2 large eggs and 1 cup peanut butter crunchy or plain (I used plain).
– Stir to combine; the mixture will be crumbly.
– Add 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon cold water, or enough to make a cohesive dough. Depending on the season, you may need to add a bit more (winter), or a bit less (summer). (I needed to add just a little more.)
– Can either roll into walnut-sized balls and flatten to 1/4″ thick , or roll dough to 1/4″ thick and cut with cookie cutter.
– Lay the biscuits close to each other on baking sheets, and bake for about 40-60 minutes, baking smaller cookies for the shorter amount of time, the larger biscuits for the longer amount of time.  I found right around 50 minutes worked great.
– When finished the biscuits will be dark golden brown and will be dry and crisp all the way through.

 IMG_1694 IMG_1692

They turned out pretty tasty and Charley sure enjoys them!

IMG_1700

After thinking about how this day went, and about how many times I consulted the Internet to find out how to do things or inspiration on what to cook, I decided that making my own blog would be fun, and would potentially entertain or inform others. Not to mention it helps me focus on the fun things in my life, and not get too stressed out by all of the work. I can’t say how often I will post on here (because I hope to be going out and doing things and not spending a ton of time writing about stuff), but my goal is at least once a week to give updates on our mile times, the progress of my little seedlings, and the yummy things I make up in the kitchen.

One response to “Blog Inspiration: Lazy Sunday Part 3 – Eat

Leave a Reply

