Sunday Lalunch: Egyptian Feta Cheese Omelet Roll

Charley and I kept with our Sunday routine from last week of running in the park and spending some time at the dog park chasing balls and socializing with friends, which worked up quite the appetite. Once we got home I decided to search the web for something new to make for my late lunch (Lalunch). On my last grocery run I had purchased a pound of thick-sliced bacon. This is something that I typically don’t do partly because our grocery store seems to sell out of bacon quite frequently (weird), and I just usually don’t buy meat. It is not that I don’t like it (I actually enjoy it quite a bit and I often crave it); it is just a lot of work to prepare for just one person to eat. I made chicken chow-mien a few weeks ago (recipe to be shared soon), and I found myself eating it for the whole week, which I didn’t mind, but it would have been nice to share it with someone and eat less of it. With Andrew moving here in a few months, it will be nice to share the cooking responsibility as well as the eating!

Anyway, back to bacon. I wanted to make it as part of my lalunch, and save the rest for salads I typically eat during the week (recipes for my favorite salads to come soon as well). Thinking up all of the ingredients in my fridge I thought about making some sort of egg dish with feta cheese. Google came back with this:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/egyptian-feta-cheese-omelet-roll/

Egyptian Feta Cheese Omelet Roll:
Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:
4 eggs, beaten
½ teaspoon black pepper
3 tablespoons crumbled feta cheese
1 teaspoon milk
1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Directions:
1.)  In small bowl, beat eggs and pepper together. In another small bowl, combine crumbled cheese with milk

2.)  Heat oil in large non-stick skillet pan over medium-high heat. Pour in eggs, and tilt pan until bottom is evenly covered. When edges appear cooked, place feta mixture in a line in the center of eggs. Using a spatula, fold eggs over top and bottom of cheese, then fold sides over.

Feta Omelet

I am not a huge fan of eggs, mostly because of their texture when not cooked all the way; there is something about runny or wet eggs that I just am not a fan of. Typically when I cook eggs, which is not very often, they are cooked well and dry. With the cheese in the center of this recipe, I could have the best of both worlds: dry eggs with a juicy, flavor-full center. I think this may have been one of my first attempts at making an omelet, and they turned out great! I modified the recipe a little: I used 3 eggs and a little less pepper, and I added garlic powder and bacon to the egg mixture. I ate it with a side of bacon and it was delicious. The feta I had was Mediterranean-flavored with sun-dried tomatoes and a variety of herbs, which added a lot of flavor. Next time I think I would actually add roasted tomatoes and olives to give it a little more substance. Overall it is a really great dish that I recommend for a nice Sunday brunch (or lalunch for those that sleep in until noon like me).

Leave a Reply

